My (sciatic nerve) aching back

I have had back pain in the past. It all started many years ago and all I did was bend down and kiss Scooter goodbye before heading off to work. Wow. I stood up and boom, sharp shooting pains that put me on the floor.

I started going to a chiropractor that day. She didn’t help me one bit. I walked around in excruciating pain for more than a week. I distinctly remember one of the bosses laughing at me because of the way I was walking. Nice. Idiot.

So the next time it happened, don’t ask me what I was doing to kill my back again, I never know really, it just comes on with vengeance and leaves me a poor, crying invalid for days. I went to the clinic this time. The PA there was nice enough to get me a xray that showed nothing other than a bit of arthritis that everyone has. Hum. He put me on pain killers and I went to work. I couldn’t be productive in the fog they put me in so again, I put up with it and carried on.

Those were diagnosed as muscle spasms. When I met “dick” he had gone through some major back pains and one of the things he had that helped him and ME was a tens unit. It’s a machine that zaps a little electrical charge in the area you stick the little band-aid things. It worked wonders. I ordered one a couple of months ago when my muscle spasms were in an uproar. Problem is, I can’t get the dang thing to work. At all. So with this last thing (which is NOT muscle spasms), I left the clinic with muscle relaxers and Vicodin and stopped at physical therapy to see if they could get it my tens unit to work. They couldn’t. I paid $125 for this thing and as soon as my back is feeling up to a 15 minute ride it is getting shipped back.

I have had pain in my lower left side for the last 6 days. When I realized this was not the same old back ache as the muscle spasms I sent myself off to the clinic again. She diagnosed me with Sciatica (pain along the sciatic nerve) causes pain, weakness, numbness and tingling from the lower back down the back of the leg to the toes. She asked if I thought I was able to work and I told her yes, but asked if she could write out a slip in case I couldn’t get out of bed the next morning. I haven’t really gotten completely out of bed for three days now. I hate missing work. I can’t sit in the car for any length of time. I can’t sit period. And the pain isn’t even bearable until 2 or 3 in the afternoon. So I have been home babying my back. Hoping and praying each time I lay down in a drug induced sleep that I will wake up pain-free. It hasn’t happened yet.

At least it’s Friday. I don’t think it will be an eventful weekend for me.

Leave a Reply

