Southern Living at my Sisters Home

Last Friday my sister and I hosted a Halloween themed Southern Living at Home party – think tupperware with home deco stuff instead. On the menu were graveyard and spider cupcakes, pizza dip and pita chips and mummys (hotdogs wrapped in pillsbury dough). We had candy corn and peanuts, cheese and crackers and pretzels dipped in white and dark chocolate. I made some awesome mulled cider.

It was held my sisters home in town due to better options of parking. Our consultant Brenda brought a car load of cool stuff to show. I can’t wait for the goods to be delivered in 2-3 weeks. Unfortunately I didn’t get many photos because I was too busy hosting to remember the camera.

SLfoodSL

Together we sold over $700 worth of goods and I got $175 worth of stuff for $50. Not bad for 3 hours worth of entertaining.

Here’s the recipe I used to make the cider. I didn’t add the apple brandy because I wanted to make it non alcoholic and gave the option to add Captain Morgan Spiced Rum. YUM!

  • Peel of 1/2 orange
  • 6″ broken cinnamin sticks
  • 1″ peeled and sliced ginger
  • 1 t allspice
  • 8 c apple cider
  • 1 c apple brandy
  • 1/4 c honey

Tie orange peel, cinnamin, ginger and allspice in a 8″ square of cheesecloth. Combine apple cider and honey in crockpot. Add spice bag. Float sliced oranges on top. Cover and cook on low for 5-6 hours or high for 2.5 – 3 hours. I used my oval 6 quart crockpot and wasn’t sure how much I would need. One gallon filled the thing and I had a spare gallon that I added a little at a time when it got low. We pretty much drank both gallons. Mostly with the Captain!

Leave a Reply

